Set user status
- Directory > User > Edit permission
- Directory > User > All permission
You can set the status of one or more users to active, inactive or deleted. Typically, use inactive status for seasonal workers, or for employees on extended leave of absence who plan to return to the organization. You can also track agent attrition when you delete users or set their status as inactive. Use the captured data to understand why some agents turn over faster than others, and to map out the employee journey.
- Click Admin.
- Under People and Permissions, click People.
- Click Menu > User Management > Users.
- Select the users whose status you want to change.
- To set a user status as inactive, do one of the following:
- Select the user, click Set Status, and from the menu that appears, select Set Inactive.
- Under the Status column in the People page, select Inactive as the status of the user.
- To set multiple users inactive, do the following:
- Select the users from the People page.
- Click Set Status and from the menu that appears, click Set Inactive.
- To confirm the status change, select one of the following reasons:
- Voluntary
- Seasonal
- Leave
- Performance
- Conduct
- Unknown
- Click Confirm.
When a user account is set to inactive:
- The user cannot log in to Genesys Cloud.
- All roles assigned to the user are removed.
- All other information about the user remains intact, including email address, performance data, conversation history, chat history, files stored in documents, and voicemails. Inactive users do not appear in the directory.
- If necessary, skills can be removed from inactive users regardless of whether they are directly assigned or inherited through a skill expression. After removing skills, the group membership re-evaluates automatically.
- Click Admin.
- Under People and Permissions, click People.
- Click Menu > User Management > Users.
- Select the users whose status you want to change.
- Click Set Status and then select Set Active.
- Click Confirm.
If you are reactivating an existing user account, previously assigned roles are not restored. Only roles assigned to the user through groups are automatically applied again.
Remove someone’s Genesys Cloud account if they leave the organization or were invited in error. When you delete someone from your organization, Genesys Cloud deactivates the account so the user can no longer log in. Genesys Cloud also removes all permissions assigned to the deleted user.
Genesys Cloud does not delete some information related to the deleted user, including email address, performance data, conversation history, chat history, files stored in documents, and voicemails. This data can be removed using the GDPR API.
The deleted user does not appear in a directory search, and active users are not able to see the deleted user’s profile page or profile information. Active users may continue to see the deleted user in their chat roster and access chat history with the deleted user. Deleted users name show up in the chat roster appended with - Inactive.
- Click Admin.
- Under People and Permissions, click People.
- Click Menu > User Management > Users.
- Select the users whose statuses you want to change.
- To delete a user, do one of the following:
- Select the user, click Set Status and from the menu that appears, select Set Deleted.
- Under the Status column in the People page, select Deleted as the status of the user.
- Click the user’s name, and on the Person Profile page, click Delete Person.
- To delete multiple users, do the following:
- Select the users to delete.
- Click Set Status and from the menu that appears, click Set Deleted.
- To confirm the status change, select one of the following reasons:
- Voluntary
- Seasonal
- Leave
- Performance
- Conduct
- Unknown
- Click Confirm.
- If the user is in a custom division at the time of deletion, they move to the default Home division. Therefore, if the user is restored, they remain the Home division and must be manually moved to the custom division.
- A user account deleted through the GDPR API cannot be undeleted.
- When you delete a user from an organization, Genesys Cloud retains information about the deleted user, including email address, performance data, conversation history, chat history, files stored in documents, and voicemails. This data can be removed by using the GDPR API. Because of retained data, Genesys Cloud does not recommend reusing a deleted account or email address. For more information, see What happens when I delete a user’s account?
- The deleted user will not appear in a directory search, and active users will not be able to see the deleted user’s profile page or profile information.
[NEXT] Was this article helpful?
Get user feedback about articles.