Use the persistent connection feature with a Genesys Cloud WebRTC phone
The persistent connection feature is designed to improve Genesys Cloud’s ability to process subsequent calls. More specifically, Genesys Cloud initiates the persistent connection for your WebRTC phone: either when you become Available off-queue (if you have the Routing > Conversation > Accept Off-Queue permission) or when you go to On Queue (if you do not have the Routing > Conversation > Accept Off-Queue permission).
Genesys Cloud assigns new voice interaction to you only if the persistent connection for your WebRTC phone is established. Once the persistent connection is open, it is maintained.
When another call comes in to the agent, Genesys Cloud can instantly pass the call to the agent using the existing connection. The UI immediately alerts the agent or, if the user has Auto Answer configured, then the call is immediately answered. This feature saves time and improves the speed with which calls are answered.
When you enable the Maintain a persistent connection setting for the WebRTC phone, as described in Configure the Genesys Cloud WebRTC phone, and the persistent feature is established, you see a green signal icon next to the phone icon in the menu bar.
As you monitor the persistent connection feature, keep the following points in mind:
- Once you enable the persistent connection feature, it becomes active under one of the following conditions:
- If you have the
routing > conversation > acceptOffQueuepermission, the persistent connection is initiated when you become Available (off-queue); once the connection is open, the feature is active. - If you do not have that permission, the persistent connection is initiated when you go on queue; once the connection is open, the feature is active.
- If you have the
- The persistent connection feature does have a timeout setting, which your administrator configures. Therefore, if you do not receive a subsequent call before the timeout period elapses, Genesys Cloud terminates the open connection. By default the timeout is 10 minutes.
- When the connection is terminated by a timeout, Genesys Cloud automatically re-initiates the connection. While the connection is being re-established and you are On Queue, Genesys Cloud may assign to you the non-voice interactions (chat, email, message, etc) from your queues.
At any point in time, you can terminate a persistent connection.
[NEXT] Was this article helpful?
Get user feedback about articles.
